JOEL QUARRINGTON

Born in Toronto, Joel Quarrington began playing the bass at the age of eleven in order to complete a bluegrass/folk trio with his two older brothers, Tony and Paul. He began formal studies of the double bass at the age of 13 with Thomas Monohan, the late principal bassist of the Toronto Symphony as well as Peter Madgett, also a member of the Toronto Symphony. Subsequent studies took him to Italy and Austria where he studied with two legendary bass masters, Franco Petracchi and Ludwig Streicher.
Joel is a winner of the Geneva International Competition, and has made solo appearances in Canada, the United States, Europe and China. He has long been recognized as Canada‘s foremost double bassist and is regarded as one of the world‘s leading players. His colourful performance style has entertained audiences across the country and around the world.
He also has led many bass sections: the Hamilton Philharmonic, the Canadian Opera Company Orchestra and since September 1991, the Toronto Symphony Orchestra. In September 2006 he became the Principal Bassist of the National Arts Centre Orchestra under Pinchas Zukerman.
Joel Quarrington is a faculty member of Toronto‘s Royal Conservatory of Music and has taught in masterclasses for such esteemed schools as Philadelphia‘s Curtis Institute and London‘s Royal Academy of Music. As a renowned chamber musician he has performed with many of the world‘s leading string quartets including the Oxford, Vermeer, Cleveland, Colorado, St. Lawrence, Allegri and Tokyo Quartets.
 

SELECTED DISCOGRAPHY
 
Bottesini Music For Double Bass & Piano Vol 2 – Quarrington / Burashko (Naxos)
Bottesini Music For Double Bass & Piano Vol 1 – Quarrington / Burashko (Naxos)
Virtuoso Reality Joel Quarrington & friends (CBC Records)
Mozart? The Festival Winds (CBC Records)
The Instruments Of The Orchestra Jeremy Siepmann (Naxos)
Chamber Suite Mendelssohn, Glick, Bruch / Wilson & Friends (Doremi)
Classical Potpourri Catherine Wilson & Friends (Doremi)

“A league of his own”
Stewart Hoffman, Performance Magazine,
Winter 2005

JOEL QUARRINGTON

Joel Quarrington wurde in Toronto geboren und begann mit 11 Jahren Bass zu spielen, um mit seinen älteren Brüdern Tony und Paul ein Bluegrass/Folk Trio zu bilden. Joel fing mit regulärem Unterricht für Kontrabass im Alter von 13 an, studierte bei Thomas Monohan, dem damaligen Solobassisten des Toronto Symphony Orchestra und Peter Madgett, auch einem Mitglied des TSO. Nachfolgende Studien führten ihn nach Italien und Österreich, wo er mit zwei legendären Bassisten studierte: Franco Petracchi und Ludwig Streicher.
Joel ist Gewinner der Genevra International Competition und trat als Solist in Kanada, den USA, Europa und China auf. Schon lange ist er wohl Kanadas bekanntester Kontrabassist und gilt nach wie vor als einer der besten Bassisten der Welt. Seine vielfältigen Auftritte haben das Publikum über das Land und die ganze Welt
begeistert.
Joel Quarrington war aber auch als Solobassist in vielen Orchestern wie dem Hamilton Philharmonic, dem Canadian Opera Company Orchestra und ab 1991 im Toronto Symphony Orchestra engagiert. Im September 2006 wurde er zum Solobassisten des National Arts Centre Orchestra unter der Leitung von Pinchas Zukerman bestellt.
Joel Quarrington ist ein Fakultätsmitglied des Toronto Royal Conser-vatory of Music und hat bei Master Classes u.a. im Philadelphia’s Curtis Insitute und in der London’s Royal Academy of Music unterrichtet. Als geschätzter Kammermusiker trat er mit vielen berühmten Streich-quartetten einschließlich des Oxford, Vermeer, Cleveland, Colorado, St. Lawrence, Allegri und Tokyo Quartetts auf.
 

AUSGEWÄHLTE DISKOGRAPHIE

Bottesini Music For Double Bass & Piano Vol 2 – Quarrington / Burashko (Naxos)
Bottesini Music For Double Bass & Piano Vol 1 – Quarrington / Burashko (Naxos)
Virtuoso Reality Joel Quarrington & friends (CBC Records)
Mozart? The Festival Winds (CBC Records)
The Instruments Of The Orchestra Jeremy Siepmann (Naxos)
Chamber Suite Mendelssohn, Glick, Bruch / Wilson & Friends (Doremi)
Classical Potpourri Catherine Wilson & Friends (Doremi)

“A league of his own”
Stewart Hoffman, Performance Magazine,
Winter 2005